AEC Reflection Week 12: Amos Yee

I’ve always believed that the internet, social media, has been a platform for young voices, especially teenagers, to voice up and speak out about their opinions and views, especially since some adults shut down younger voices/opinions as irrelevant/unimportant. However, after the whole Amos Yee “saga”, I must add that, social media also allows one to go negative. Amos Yee talks a lot about freedom of speech, however, he defines it “you should be able to say whatever you want, even if it incites violence, and not be punished by law. Therefore if Hitler existed today, he should not be sentenced.”, which I disagree with. I think everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and to voice it out, yet I also feel that everyone should also be open minded, in this case, a lot of the time, especially when people were opposing his opinion and trying to educate him POLITELY and REASONABLY during occasions where he made disrespectful and offensive videos, he was responding to these videos with vulgarities. I think his refusal to be receptive or willingness to be educated / to listen / to learn is one of the largest reasons to why he is so disliked by the public. To me, social media has always been a tool to firstly listen, and to be more aware of social issues going on around the world (etc.) Social media gives you the power to be in control of what you want to say, but I think its more important to be receptive and willingly to listen, if you receive backlash on opinion, I feel that is a huge deal to be open minded. I personally disagree with him on most issues he’s talked about yet I feel that its useless for anyone to attempt to debate with him because of his refusal to be open minded. One thing that really bugs me is the fact that he is so ruthless and unapologetic about his hatred for the Muslim community which I not only find disrespectful but also offensive. I feel that instead of hating on him / showering him with attention / attempting to educate/debate/argue with him, we should instead stand with the Muslim community and celebrate their culture and beliefs. I think freedom of speech is to speak freely, but it is also a choice to be polite and empathetic when speaking, to be open minded and receptive when others try to debate with you/ tell you that your opinion is wrong/ trying to educate you. I liked how when Amos Yee made that first video of how he was happy that Lee Kuan Yew has passed away, a lot of people were FIRSTLY trying to reason/educate/debate with him POLITELY instead of immediately hating on him. It was a very classy move. All in all, I would like to add on to what I have said about social media and the internet: the internet, social media, has been a platform for young voices, especially teenagers, to voice up and speak out about their opinions and views, especially since some adults shut down younger voices/opinions as irrelevant/unimportant. HOWEVER, I think its very important that we speak with respect and empathy in mind. Be kind with your words.

Leave a Reply

